Skip to main content

University Governance



The Consiliatura is formed by the University President who is its Chair, five Consiliarios and the Colegiales de Numero, and is the highest governing body of Universidad del Rosario. This university body advises the University President in all aspects of his work, manages institutional assets, and approves the annual income and expenditure budgets, among other functions attributed to it by the Old and New University Constitutions.

The Consiliarios are five persons elected by an electoral body composed of the University President and the Colegiales de Numero who are active at the time when the University President calls the Electoral College. The Colegiales de Numero are active for a period of four years with the possibility of being reelected indefinitely. In turn, the Consiliarios and the Colegiales de Numero are responsible for electing the University President during the respective Electoral College convened by the Consiliatura.

The elected Consiliarios for the currente period are:

Álvaro Salcedo Saavedra

Álvaro Salcedo Saavedra - Elected

Rosarista Lawyer
General Secretary of Colsubsidio

Alejandro Useche Arévalo

Alejandro Useche Arévalo - Elected

Rosarista Economist
College Professor - President of the Academic Committee of the Securities Market Self-regulator

Martha Isabel Woodcock

Martha Isabel Woodcock Salas - Elected

Rosarista Economist
Executive President of Banco Santander - Colombia


Merlín Patricia Grueso Hinestroza

UR STEAM Director


Alberto Fergusson Bermúdez

Tenured Professor at the Center for Psychosocial Studies Universidad del Rosario


Manuel Velasco Durán

Collegian of Distinction

Universidad del Rosario

Rector’s Office

  • Electing a Rector involves a democratic process, in which the Collegians of Distinction and the Councilors have the right to vote.
  • The Rector’s term is four years, starting from October 25 of the election year, and they may only be reelected for two consecutive terms.
  • The Rector is responsible for governing the Colegio Mayor de Nuestra Señora del Rosario, in accordance with the constitutions and the provisions of the Board of Councilors.
  • The current Rector of the Universidad del Rosario is José Alejandro Cheyne, who was elected on October 1, 2018, and is a graduate of the Economics Program at the Rosario.
  • He has Graduate Diplomas in University Teaching and Business Administration, a Master's in Teaching, a doctorate degree in Teaching from the Universidad UPAEP in Mexico, and has studied International Senior Management.
Gobierno universitario - Vicerrectoría


Vice Rector’s Office



Secretaria General

General Secretary